Air District


The jurisdiction of the Bay Area Air Quality Management District encompasses all of seven counties and portions of two others in the San Francisco Bay Area.  These counties are listed below, with maps of the partial counties to help residents determine their jurisdictional status.
Related Links and Resources on the Web

Bay Area Air District Jurisdiction


The Bay Area Air Quality Management District's jurisdiction covers all of the counties of:

  • Alameda
  • Contra Costa
  • Marin
  • San Francisco
  • San Mateo
  • Santa Clara
  • Napa

The District's jurisdiction covers portions of the counties of: 

  • Solano
  • Sonoma


The Air District has created maps of our borders in Solano and Sonoma County to better assist residents.

View source information for the boundary maps.

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact the Air District at 415-749-4900.

Utility Buttons

  • Email This Page
  • Share Share

Air Quality Advisory

Air Quality Advisory through Tuesday, November 20, due to heavy wildfire smoke impacts in parts of the Bay Area from the Camp Fire in Butte County. See our Wildfire Safety Tips web page.

Wood Burning Status

Saturday, 11/17
in effect
Illegal To Burn
Sunday, 11/18
in effect
Illegal To Burn